Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Join
ATHE 2020 Outstanding Book Award
Share |

Return to Awards Home

The award for Outstanding Book is given on the basis of a study’s potential to interrupt, change or challenge theatre practice, pedagogy, and/or scholarship. We invite the nomination of book-length publications addressing any subject in the full range of practical and scholarly subjects in theatre and performance studies. Award-winning titles often emphasize the interconnectedness of theory and practice. Particular attention is given to the pedagogical merit of a book, whether it directly addresses teaching or demonstrates value as a classroom resource. Nominated books must have a copyright date from the year prior to the ATHE annual conference. (For instance, nominees for the 2020 Outstanding Book award should have a copyright date of 2019.) Any book many be considered for only one ATHE award (Outstanding Book or Individual Achievement in Editing).

View a list of past awardees here

Nominators must send copies of the book to the chair and to each member of the subcommittee. Each book should be mailed with a cover letter that includes the author’s name, position/affiliation, email, and mailing address; book title, publisher, and publication date; a brief statement of how the book addresses the above criteria; and the award for which the work is to be considered. Nominators also provide this information on the nomination form.

A press editor may submit up to, but no more than, five book nominations in a single awards cycle. Self-nominations and nominations from individuals able to speak to the book’s excellence are also accepted. ATHE membership is encouraged but not required of nominators and nominees. Early submissions are strongly encouraged.

The winner will be contacted in May and a public announcement will be made in early June. The awardee will receive $400 for conference registration and one night in the conference hotel.

For questions, contact Subcommittee Chair D.J. Hopkins or Vice President for Awards Dassia N. Posner.

The nomination period for the 2020 award is closed.

Subcommittee Mailing Addresses:

CHAIR: D.J. Hopkins, San Diego State University
School of Theatre, Television, and Film
San Diego State University
5500 Campanile Dr.
San Diego, CA 92182-7601

Jonathan Chambers, Bowling Green State University
Dept. of Theatre and Film
212 Wolfe Center
Bowling Green State University
Bowling Green, OH 43403

Judith Hamera, Princeton University
6 N. Riding Dr.
Pennington, NJ 08534

Patricia Herrera, University of Richmond
2000 Wrens Nest Road
Richmond, VA 23235

Kim Solga, Western University, Ontario
80 Pearl St North
Hamilton, ON L8R 2Y9

© 2020 Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE). All rights reserved.
P.O. Box 922 | Santa Cruz, CA 95061 | Phone: 628.222.4088