Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Join
ATHE-ASTR 2020 Award for Excellence in Digital Scholarship
Share |

Return to Awards Home

The Joint ATHE-ASTR Award for Excellence in Digital Theatre and Performance Scholarship is awarded each year to an individual or team that demonstrates innovation and rigor in the use of electronic/digital media for the purpose of producing or disseminating knowledge about theatre and performance.

Eligible projects include but are not limited to interactive e-book and e-journal publications or online material with adaptable and “reflowable” content, such as websites, social media, and EPUBS. Also eligible are offline publications such as CDs and DVDs, MP4s, etc., as well as digital tools or software for teaching or research, encyclopedias, databases, and so forth. To be eligible, projects should be born digital, i.e., not intended for print media (although secondary print-based outcomes will not affect eligibility). The PI should be a member of either ATHE or ASTR, but co-PIs need not all be members for the project to be considered.

For this award, ATHE selects the award committee, solicits and vets applications, and selects the award recipient. The award is materially supported by and presented at the Awards Ceremony at ATHE in even years and ASTR in odd years. ASTR also recognizes the winner in the Awards Banquet program at the annual ASTR conference each year.

Nominators should submit a letter of nomination that addresses the above criteria and should also provide the following information: nominator/nominee name and contact information; title, dates, and duration of the project; project description, objective, and outcomes; and project funding sources. Nominations should also include a link to the project if online and instructions for access, as applicable, or a copy of the project if offline. Self-nominations as well as nominations by ATHE or ASTR members are permitted.

The 2020 ATHE-ASTR Award For Excellence in Digital Scholarship will be presented at the ATHE conference in Detroit, MI.

The nomination period for the 2020 award is closed.

View the subcommittee here.

For questions, contact Subcommittee Chair Wendy Arons or Vice President for Awards Dassia N. Posner.

© 2020 Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE). All rights reserved.
P.O. Box 922 | Santa Cruz, CA 95061 | Phone: 628.222.4088