Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Join
ATHE 2020 Excellence in Editing Award
Share |

Return to Awards Home

The Award for Excellence in Editing honors edited scholarship that contributes significantly to the fields of theatre and/or performance studies and that is marked by skillful editorial shaping. The Award for Excellence in Editing is given both for Individual Achievements in Editing (for a single project) and for Sustained Achievement in Editing (for work edited over an extended period of time). The honor for Individual Achievement is awarded in even-numbered years; the honor for Sustained Achievement is awarded in odd-numbered years.

View a list of past awardees here

This year, the ATHE Excellence in Editing Award will honor an Individual Achievement.

For the Individual Achievement in Editing award, individual projects include, but are not limited to, a special issue of journal, an edited book, or an anthology. Projects with copyright dates from the two years preceding the award year are eligible (For instance, nominees for the 2020 Individual Achievement award should have a copyright date of 2018 or 2019). Any book many be considered for only one ATHE award (either Outstanding Book or Individual Achievement in Editing).

Nominators must send copies of the nominated work to the chair and to all members of the subcommittee. Each work should be mailed with a cover letter that includes the author’s name, position/affiliation, email, and mailing address; title, publisher, and publication date; a brief statement of how the work addresses the above criteria; and the award for which the work is to be considered. Self-nominations, nominations from publishers, and nominations from individuals able to speak to the project’s excellence are accepted. ATHE membership is encouraged but not required of nominators and nominees. Early submissions are strongly encouraged.

The winner will be contacted in May and a public announcement will be made in early June. The awardee will receive $400 for conference registration and one night in the conference hotel.

For questions, contact Subcommittee Chair Daniel Sack or Vice President for Awards Dassia N. Posner.

The nomination period for the 2020 award is closed.

Subcommittee Mailing Addresses:

CHAIR: Daniel Sack, University of Massachusetts Amherst
15 Silver Street
South Hadley, MA 01075

Kathy Foley, University of California, Santa Cruz
Theatre Arts Dept.
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz, CA 95064

John Michael Sefel, The Ohio State University
5613 Longbow Lane
Columbus, OH 43235

Julia Moriarty, Wayne State University
9924 Cherokee Lane
Leawood, KS 66206

Isaiah Wooden, Brandeis University
30 Upland Road, Unit 4
Cambridge, MA 02140

© 2020 Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE). All rights reserved.
P.O. Box 922 | Santa Cruz, CA 95061 | Phone: 628.222.4088