Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Join
Excellence in Editing - Winners

ATHE’s Excellence in Editing Award honors both individual achievements in editing and sustained achievement in editing over extended periods of time. These awards are given in rotation. This year, in which we celebrate individual achievement in editing, the winners are:


Natalie Alvarez, Claudette Lauzon, and Keren Zaiontz

Sustainable Tools for Precarious Times: Performance Actions in the Americas (Palgrave Macmillan, 2019)

Natalie AlvarezNatalie Alvarez is Professor of Theatre and Performance Studies in the School of Performance at Ryerson University in Toronto. She is the author of Immersions in Cultural Difference: Tourism, War, Performance (University of Michigan Press, 2018), winner of the 2019 Ann Saddlemyer Book Prize awarded by the Canadian Association for Theatre Research (CATR), Theatre & War (in press with Palgrave Macmillan), and editor of two books on Latina/o-Canadian performance (Playwrights Canada Press, 2013), recipients of CATR’s Patrick O’Neil prize in 2014 and 2015. Natalie is Principal Investigator of a four-year study funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada, "Scenario Training to Improve Interactions Between Police and Individuals in Mental Health Crisis: Impacts and Efficacy."


Claudette LauzonClaudette Lauzon is Assistant Professor of Contemporary Art History at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver, Canada. She is the author of The Unmaking of Home in Contemporary Art (University of Toronto Press, 2017) and co-editor of Through Post-Atomic Eyes (McGill-Queens University Press, 2020). WIth the support of the Social Sciences and Research Council of Canada Insight program, Claudette is currently working on an illustrated technobestiary of contemporary war culture.



Keren Zaiontz

Keren Zaiontz is Assistant Professor and Queen’s National Scholar in Creative Industries in the Global City at Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario. She teaches in the Department of Film and Media and the Cultural Studies Graduate Program. Keren is author of Theatre & Festivals (Red Globe Press, 2018) part of the Theatre & series. She is currently a Research Fellow in the inaugural Jack and Doris Shadbolt Fellowship in the Humanities Program at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver. Keren is developing a creative non-fiction podcast and memoir that meditates on the shifting purpose of home during the global pandemic.



The committee is also delighted to recognize the following editors for their outstanding work:


Val DunnJean Graham-Jones
Lola Arias: Re-enacting Life (Performance Research Books, 2019)

Jean Graham-Jones is the Lucille Lortel Professor of Theatre at the City University of New York’s Graduate Center, where she served as head of the PhD Program in Theatre and Performance (2009-2016). A trained actor and director, she is a scholar and translator of Argentine and Latin American theatre and performance; and her major publications include Exorcising History: Argentine Theater Under Dictatorship (2000), Reason Obscured: Nine Plays by Ricardo Monti (ed. and trans., 2004), BAiT: Buenos Aires in Translation (ed. and trans., 2008), Timbre 4: Two Plays by Claudio Tolcachir (ed. and trans., 2010), Evita, Inevitably: Performing Argentina’s Female Icons Before and After Eva Perón (2014), and Lola Arias: Re-Enacting Life (ed., 2019). A former editor of Theatre Journal, she recently completed her term as President of the International Federation for Theatre Research (2015-2019). Her latest monographic project centers on contemporary performance translation.


Morgan GouldKonstantinos Thomaidis
What is New in Voice Training? Special Issue of Theatre, Dance and Performance Training 10.3 (December 2019)

Dr. Konstantinos Thomaidis is Senior Lecturer in Drama, Theatre and Performance at the University of Exeter. He co-founded and co-edits the Routledge Voice Studies book series and the Journal of Interdisciplinary Voice Studies. He co-convenes the Sound, Voice & Music Working Group at TaPRA. His books include: Voice Studies (2015, with Ben Macpherson), Theatre & Voice (2017), and Time and Performer Training (2019, with Mark Evans and Libby Worth). He is the Artistic Director of Adrift Performance Makers.


Other finalists included:

ATHE offers special thanks to the Excellence in Editing award subcommittee for their work this cycle.

© 2020 Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE). All rights reserved.
P.O. Box 922 | Santa Cruz, CA 95061 | Phone: 628.222.4088