Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Join
Oscar Brockett Outstanding Teacher Award - Winner

Named for renowned theatre educator and historian Oscar Brockett, the Outstanding Teacher award honors a college-level faculty member whose superiority as a teacher of theatre is recognized by students and colleagues, who has provided inspiration through instruction in theatre, and who has created strong, effective interpersonal communication through advising, mentoring, and all aspects of the student/teacher relationship. Candidates must support multiculturalism and diversity in theatre and/or education. This year’s recipient of the award is:


James Peck

James Peck is Professor of Theatre at Muhlenberg College. He has directed over sixty productions of plays, musicals, and operas in university and professional settings. He has published articles in leading journals such as Theatre Journal, Theatre Survey, and Theatre Topics, as well as multiple book chapters. He served as Editor of Theatre Topics and Book Review Editor of Theatre Journal. Currently, he is Series Editor of the eight volume book series Great North American Stage Directors, under contract with Methuen Drama. For that series, he is editing and contributing to Volume 8, about Jesusa Rodríguez, Peter Sellars, and Reza Abdoh. His administrative roles at Muhlenberg have included Chair of the Department of Theatre and Dance and Associate Dean for Diversity Initiatives. Prior to joining the Muhlenberg faculty, he was the Head of Directing at the Playwrights Horizons Theatre School. He holds an M.F.A. in Theatre (Directing) from UCSD and a Ph.D in Performance Studies from NYU.


Acceptance Speech




ATHE offers special thanks to the Brockett Award subcommittee members for their work this cycle.

© 2020 Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE). All rights reserved.
P.O. Box 922 | Santa Cruz, CA 95061 | Phone: 628.222.4088