Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Join
Outstanding Book Award - Winners

ATHE’s Award for Outstanding Book is given on the basis of the study's potential to interrupt, change and/or challenge theatre practice and pedagogy - often emphasizing the interconnectedness of pedagogy and practice. After reviewing over 40 nominations that show the remarkable quality of research in our fields, we are pleased to announce that this year’s winner is:


Jennifer Buckley Jennifer Buckley

Beyond Text: Theater and Performance in Print after 1900 (University of Michigan Press, 2019)

Jennifer Buckley is Associate Professor of English and Theatre Arts at the University of Iowa, where she teaches courses on modern and contemporary drama and performance. In addition to Beyond Text: Theater and Performance in Print after 1900 (University of Michigan Press, 2019), she is the author of essays in several edited collections, as well as articles and reviews published in Modernism/modernity, Theatre Survey, Theatre Journal, TDR: The Drama Review, SHAW: The Journal of Bernard Shaw Studies, Theater, and Comparative Drama. Her current book project is Act Without Words: Speechless Performance on Modern Stages.


Acceptance Speech


The committee is also delighted to recognize the following scholars for their outstanding work:


Aparna DharwadkerAparna Bhargava Dharwadker

A Poetics of Modernity: Indian Theatre Theory, 1850 to the Present (Oxford University Press, 2019)

Aparna Dharwadker is Professor of English and Interdisciplinary Theatre Studies at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where she teaches a wide range of courses in modern and contemporary theatre, South Asian diasporic fiction and film, and world literature. Her first book, Theatres of Independence: Drama, Theory, and Urban Performance in India Since 1947, received the Joe A. Callaway Prize in 2006 as the best book on drama or theatre published in 2004-05. Dharwadker’s current research includes two book-length projects in progress: a study of comparative modernisms titled Cosmo-Modernism and the Other Theatre, and a study of the constitutive features of Indian theatrical modernity, titled Ambivalent Modernity and the Modernization of Urban Theatre in India.


Tavia Nyong’oTavia Nyong’o

Afro-Fabulations: The Queer Drama of Black Life (New York University Press, 2019)

Tavia Nyong’o is Professor of African-American Studies, American Studies, and Theatre & Performance Studies at Yale University. His books include: The Amalgamation Waltz: Race, Performance, and the Ruses of Memory (U Minnesota, 2009), winner of the Errol Hill Award, and Afro-Fabulations: The Queer Drama of Black Life (NYU Press, 2019), winner of the Barnard Hewitt Award.


Other finalists included:


ATHE offers its special thanks to the Outstanding Book award subcommittee members for their work this cycle.

© 2020 Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE). All rights reserved.
P.O. Box 922 | Santa Cruz, CA 95061 | Phone: 628.222.4088