Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Join
Focus Groups T-W: Women and Theatre Program
Group Pages

To learn more about the Women & Theatre Program, visit the website:

There, you can learn about the Focus Group, contact leadership, discover and enter the Jane Chambers Playwriting competition, meet our officers, read the newsletter, and find out more about our annual pre-conference and ATHE conference activities.

About WTP

Our mission is to bring theatre professionals together with academics and activists. In the years since our inception, WTP has sponsored panels and activities at ATHE’s annual conference. In 1980, WTP began holding its own annual pre-ATHE conference. WTP conferences feature panels, informal discussions, workshops, and performances as a means to foster both research and production of feminist theatre activities. WTP conference topics have included the intersection of theory and performance, multicultural theatre, lesbian theory and theatre, and many related aspects of feminist inquiry. The continuing goal of WTP is to enable feminist inquiry and to provide opportunities for discussion between those who teach, perform, and theorize about feminism, theatre, and performance.


Focus Group Representative

Lindsay Cummings

Co-Conference Planners

Lynn Deboeck

Bethany Wood

Pre-Conference Planner

Jessica Del Vecchio

About Jane Chambers Playwriting Award

WTP awards the Jane Chambers Playwriting Award to recognize plays and performance texts created by women that present a feminist perspective and contain significant opportunities for female performers. This annual award is given in memory of lesbian playwright Jane Chambers who, through her plays A Late Snow, Last Summer at Bluefish Cove, My Blue Heaven, Kudzu, and The Quintessential Image, became a major feminist voice in American theater. This award is one of the few nationally recognized competitions for women playwrights and attracts over 200 submissions annually.

The award-winning play is given a reading at ATHE, and an annotated list of the top contenders is circulated to the WTP members and over 400 regional theaters.

View the Jane Chambers Playwriting Award FAQ and Guidelines here.

To apply, please visit the Jane Chambers Award page.

© 2018 Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE). All rights reserved.
1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252 | St. Paul, MN 55114 | Phone: 800.918.9216 or 651.288.3430 | Fax: 651.290.2266