Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Join
Focus Groups A-D: Dramaturgy Program

Dramaturgy Program

The Dramaturgy Focus Group serves as the primary site for professional and intellectual exchange for the growing numbers of university-based dramaturgs in North America. Dramaturgy is an inherently interdisciplinary aspect of theatre, operating at the intersection of theory and practice. The DR FG encourages interdisciplinary work, and at ATHE's annual conference we welcome sessions that combine performance with more conventional forms of conference presentation. The DR FG serves its members by supporting panels, presentations, seminars, discussions, and year-round activity that explore existing dramaturgical practices, seek to develop new ones, or that use dramaturgy as a tool for investigating broader social and historical concerns.

The DR FG coordinates its programming with Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas. LMDA and ATHE support dramaturgs and literary managers from diverse backgrounds at any stage in their careers. While acknowledging and celebrating differences in our organizations and our membership, we seek to determine how we come together, particularly in terms of shared values and beliefs. Based on these commonalities, we are engaged in an extended search for ways in which we can defend the function, explore the practice, and promote the profession of dramaturgy. The DR FG also contributes to the expanding content of LMDA's web-based journal, Review.

This year we are updating our by-laws.  Please follow the link to review the by-laws before we vote on them.

Find out more about the Dramaturgy Focus Group and its activities.


Focus Group Representative

Carrie J. Cole (Indiana University of Pennsylvania)

Conference Planner

Martine Kei Green-Rogers (SUNY: New Paltz)

Conference Planner Elect

To Be Elected in 2018

Nominations Chair

Bryan Moore (Concordia University, Nebraska)


Eric "C" Heaps (Indiana University)

Jacob Hellman (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

Walter Byongsok Chon (Ithaca College)

Electronic Communications

LaRonika Thomas (University of Maryland)

Graduate Student Representatives

Sarah Johnson (University of Colorado - Boulder)

Brooke Oehme (Southern Illinois University)


Olga Sanchez Saltveit (University of Oregon)

Debut Panel Chair

Shelley Orr (San Diego State University)

FG Historian

Geoff Proehl (University of Puget Sound)

DD Kugler (Simon Fraser University)

© 2018 Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE). All rights reserved.
1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252 | St. Paul, MN 55114 | Phone: 800.918.9216 or 651.288.3430 | Fax: 651.290.2266