Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Join
Conferences - Past Conferences - 2012 - All-Conference Information
Share |


Performance as/is Civic Engagement: Advocate, Collaborate, Educate

Washington, D.C.
Hyatt Regency Capitol Hill
August 2 - 5, 2012


Panel / Workshop / Session Feedback

View the interactive online conference schedule! Visit this page on the ATHE website or

Conference Program Book (all files below in .pdf format)

Addendum - View this .pdf for changes since the Program Book was printed.

Conference Program Book Table of Contents

Front Matter

  • Welcome Letters from Bill Doan, ATHE President; Mark Lococo, ATHE Vice President for Conference 2012; Rebecca Hilliker, National Chair of the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival; and Robert Lynch, President and CEO of Americans for the Arts.
  • ATHE Governing Council 2012-2013
  • ATHE Focus Group Representatives
  • The 2012 Conference Committee

ATHE Leadership Institute ® Pre-Conference Workshop

Information for First-Time Attendees
Our Conference Sponsors: Americans for the Arts and the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival
Conference Registration Desk Hours and Location

For the All-Conference Schedule and Concurrent Sessions Listings, please visit our Sessions page.

Keynote and Opening Reception
Join us for the Keynote Address by Playwright Dael Orlandersmith and the All-Conference Opening Reception in the ATHE 2012 Exhibit Hall.

The ATHE 2013 Conference in Orlando, Florida
P[L]AY: Performance, Pleasure and Pedagogy
August 1 - 4, 2013

ATHE Annual Membership Meeting

ATHE Annual Awards

  • Ellen Stewart Career Achievement Award in Professional Theatre - Peter Sellars
  • ATHE Career Achievement Award in Academic Theatre - Sue-Ellen Case
  • ATHE Outstanding Teacher of Theatre in Higher Education Award - Cheryl Black
  • ATHE Award for Outstanding Book - Robin Bernstein and Susan Leigh Foster (co-recipients)
  • ATHE Award for Outstaninding Article - Leo Cabranes Grant
  • ATHE Excellence in Editing Award - Janelle Reinelt and Brian Singleton
  • ATHE Award for Leadership in Community-Based Theatre and Civic Engagement - Jan Cohen-Cruz
  • David Mark Cohen Playwriting Award - Lojo Simon
  • Jane Chambers Playwriting Award - Jen Silverman
  • Plus, the 2012 Awards Committee and Past Award Winners

All-Conference Plenary
Americans for the Arts - The Advocacy Imperative & Two Post-Plenary Breakout Sessions

Performances, Paid Workshops, and Focus Group Debut Panels

  • Performance - Tim Miller's Lay of the Land
  • Performance - DocumentNation
  • Performance - Legislative Theatre Performance
  • Performance - Rehearsed Reading of The Force of Habit
  • Paid Workshop - Kimberly Dark: Using Spoken Word Performance and Storytelling to Expand Students' Performance, Writing, and Innovation Skills
  • Paid Workshop - Irina and Paata Tsikurishvili and Synetic Theatre: Physical Theater
  • Paid Worskhop - Michael Rohd and Sojourn Theatre, Devising Civic Theatre: Performance, Social Practice and Dialogue
  • Paid Workshop - Adam McKinney and DNAWorks: Body, Memory, Narrative and Identity
  • Focus Group Debut Panels - Acting Program Adjudicated Exercises; American Theatre and Drama Society, Black Theatre Association, and Latina/o Focus Group; Association of Theatre Movement Educators; Dramaturgy; Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer; Music Theatre/Dance; Performance Studies; Religion and Theatre; Theatre and Social Change; Theatre History; Women and Theatre

Exhibit Hall Information and Location
The ATHE Bingo Raffle, Exhibit Hall Hours, and Author Signings

Exhibitors and Advertisers / Exhibit Hall Floorplan

Americans for the Arts
ArtAge Senior Theatre Resource Center
Case Western Reserve University
The Catholic University of America Department of Drama
The City University of New York School of Professional Studies M.A. in Applied Theatre
Drama Education Network
Ecumenica Journal
Focus Publishing / R. Pullins Co.
Imagination Stage
International Collegiate Theatre Festival
Project MUSE - Johns Hopkins University Press
Kennedy Center / American College Theater Festival
Methuen Drama
Mid-America Theatre Conference
University of Michigan Press
Northwestern University Press
Peacebuilding and the Arts, Brandeis University
Penn State College of Arts and Architecture
Routledge / Taylor & Francis Group
Scarecrow Press
Select Travel
The Scholar's Choice
Theatre Communications Group
Timothy Mooney Repertory Theatre
University of Toronto Press Journals
Wadsworth Cengage Learning

Hotel Floorplan

© 2018 Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE). All rights reserved.
1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252 | St. Paul, MN 55114 | Phone: 800.918.9216 or 651.288.3430 | Fax: 651.290.2266