Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Join
ATHENews - Volume 27, Number 4 - May 6, 2013
Share |



You are receiving this email because you are valued member of ATHE or you have subscribed to ATHENews.
Having trouble viewing this email? View it in your browser

Monday, May 6, 2013

Volume 27, Number 4

New Officers Elected for 2013-2015

ATHE is pleased to announce the election of new officers to the Governing Council. Judith Royer and the members of the Nominations Committee are to be congratulated for their excellent work. The transition of officers occurs during the ATHE Annual Membership Meeting, scheduled for Saturday, August 3, 10:15 to 11:45 a.m. during our upcoming conference.

Please be sure to attend this meeting to thank outgoing officers, welcome new officers, and hear the incoming president’s address by Henry Bial.

Congratulations and thank you to these newly elected officers: President-Elect - Patricia Ybarra; Vice President for Advocacy - Kathryn Ervin; Vice President for Awards - Dani Snyder-Young; Vice President-Elect for Conference 2015 - Lionel Walsh, Vice President for Professional Development - James Peck; and, Nominations Committee Member - Christin Essin. Visit this page to read their biographies and vision statements.

ATHE Prepares for Successful 2013 Conference in Orlando

We’re excited about the upcoming 27th Annual Conference in Orlando, FL, August 1-4. We hope you are planning for that event and looking at the local vacation opportunities as well. At the mid-year Governing Council and Focus Group Representatives meetings, the issue regarding the UNITEHERE Global Boycott of Hyatt Hotels was discussed. The May "From the President" letter explains ATHE's position.

Research and Publications Announces New Editor Selections

Bob Schanke, Vice President for Research and Publications, and his volunteer committee members are pleased to announce the selection of new editors for ATHE's Journals:

  • Co-editor, Theatre Journal - Joanne Tompkins, University of Queensland
  • Co-editor, Theatre Topics - Gwendolyn Alker, New York University
  • Book Review Editor, Theatre Journal – Ryan Claycomb, West Virginia University
  • Performance Review Editor, Theatre Journal – Daniel Sack, Florida State University
Terms for the co-editors begin starting in January. Co-editors become the Editors after one year.

Save $ - Register for Conference 2013 by May 31

The early registration rate offers the greatest discount for ATHE members. We encourage you to register online as it provides cost savings for the organization. Read more...



ATHE Leadership Institute ® Seeks Participants - Applications due May 15

ATHE’s Professional Development Committee and Co-Directors Barbara O. Korner, Penn State University, and Mark Heckler, Valparaiso University, present the 13th ATHE Leadership Institute ®. Applications welcome. The ATHE Leadership Institute ® provides professional development opportunities for faculty interested in leadership roles in their institutions or professional associations, for new department chairs, and for those considering administrative appointments. Learn more...

Focus Group News

Visit this page for news from:

  • Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgendered, Queer
  • Acting
  • Music Theatre/Dance
  • Perfomance Studies
  • Theatre as a Liberal Art
  • Theory and Criticism



© 2017 Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE). All rights reserved.
1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252 | St. Paul, MN 55114 | Phone: 800.918.9216 or 651.288.3430 | Fax: 651.290.2266