Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Join
ATHENews - Volume 27, Number 1
Share |


You are receiving this email as a valued member of ATHE
Having trouble viewing this email? View it in your browser

Thursday, February 7, 2013

Volume 27, Number 1

ATHE and ASTR Respond to Chronicle Blog Post on Eliminating Doctorate in Theatre

On January 16, 2013, a pseudonymous author wrote a blog post for The Chronicle of Higher Education advocating the elimination of the doctorate in theatre. The President and Vice President of ASTR, the President and President-Elect of ATHE, the ASTR Executive Committee, the ATHE Governing Council, and the ASTR New Paradigms Committee have responded with a piece written to address the numerous inaccuracies and misleading statements in the post and three of the post's most pressing concerns: placements, data-based self-assessment, and distinctions between the MFA and PhD. Read more...

Affiliate News: Nine Young Theatrical Designers Win 2013 USITT Awards

Nine up-and-coming entertainment designers from colleges around the nation will receive USITT Awards for Young Designers & Technicians in the Performing Arts (YD&T Awards), the United States Institute for Theatre Technology announced this week.

  • Cole W. Muth, University of Wisconsin – Madison, will receive the KM Fabrics Inc. Technical Production Award.
  • Daniel Perez, Yale University School of Drama, will recieve the Frederick A. Buerki Golden Hammer Award.
  • Erik T. Lawson, Carnegie Mellon University (CMU), Pittsburgh, will receive the Robert E. Cohen Sound Achievement Award.
  • Albulena Borovci, also of CMU, will receive the Zelma H. Weisfeld Costume Design & Technology Award.
  • Ethan Vail, Purdue University, will receive the USITT Lighting Design Award.
  • Courtney O’Neill, Northwestern University, will receive the USITT Scene Design Award.
  • Jared LeClaire, University of West Georgia, will receive the USITT W. Oren Parker Undergraduate Scene Design Award.
  • Lauren Wilde, University of North Carolina School of the Arts (UNCSA), will receive the USITT Makeup Design Award.
  • Peyton Taylor Becker, also an MFA student at UNCSA, will receive the USITT Stage Management Award.

Around ATHE

  • Seeking Awards Nominations
    Is there someone whose work you think should be recognized and celebrated? Nominate them for Outstanding Teacher, Outstanding Article, Excellence in Editing, Leadership in Community-Based Theatre, or Career Achievement awards!
  • Seeking Editors for ATHE Publications
    Applications for Theatre Topics Co-Editor and Theatre Journal Co-Editor and Book and Performance Review Editors are being accepted until April 1, 2013.
  • Advocacy Committee Relaunches Advocacy Watch
    The Advocacy Committee is re-launching Advocacy Watch, an e-mail list intended to notify members of issues for which they can advocate. Got an issue? E-mail a description of it to Vice President for Advocacy Gale Sheaffer at advocacy

From ATHE Focus Groups


2016 Association for Theatre in Higher Education. All rights reserved.
1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252 | St. Paul, MN 55114 | Phone: 800.918.9216 or 651.288.3430 | Fax: 651.290.2266