Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Join
Focus Groups T-W: Theatre History

Theatre History

The Theatre History Focus Group promotes the study of theatre history within universities and colleges. Our goals include encouraging and inspiring scholarly exchange and production; cultivating the lively discussion of ideas pertaining to the discipline of theatre history; providing opportunities for members to communicate results of their research to one another and the larger theatre community; and fostering dialogues with other areas of study.

Thank you to everyone who dreamed with us at ATHE 2014 in Scottsdale. As this amazing conference comes to a close, we want to especially acknowledge all of those who volunteered their time to organize this conference. In the days to come check this space for a full reflection on our time in Arizona, and keep your eyes open for our Call for Papers for ATHE 2015 in Montreal!


Focus Group Representative

Kirsten Pullen (University of Illinois)

Conference Planner

Megan Geigner (United States Naval Academy)

Associate Conference Planner

Eleanor Owicki (Indiana University)


Eileen Curley (Marist College)


Karin Maresh (Washington and Jefferson)

Sam O'Connor (Worcester State)

Graduate Student Representative

Greer Gurni (Indiana University)

Nominating Committee

Scott Phillips (Auburn University)

James Brandon (Hillsdale)

Shelby Brewster (University of Pittsburgh)

Group Feed
Mallory M. Prucha joined the group Focus Groups T-W: Theatre History.
Posted Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Michelle Gibbs, Bowling Green State University joined the group Focus Groups T-W: Theatre History.
Posted Saturday, January 20, 2018
nolan carey, CU Boulder joined the group Focus Groups T-W: Theatre History.
Posted Friday, January 19, 2018
Joelle R. Arp-Dunham, Circle Ensemble Theatre Company wrote on the Focus Groups T-W: Theatre History wall: Please pass this call on to any graduate student directors in your programs. How Will Graduate Students Revolutionize Directing? For this proposal, we are looking for graduate students whose work will soon help revolutionize theatre pedagogy and practice: that means all of us! What exercises, approaches, methodologies, or analyses can you share that will contribute to the change that each new academic brings? We are looking for a number of students to present in a round-table/workshop format. In addition, we hope to pair each student with a mentor to begin an on-going relationship. Please send a few sentences of interest to the Directing Focus Group Graduate Student Representatives: Niki Tulk: and Joelle Ré Arp-Dunham:
Posted Saturday, October 28, 2017
Stephen F. Austin State University joined the group Focus Groups T-W: Theatre History.
Posted Tuesday, October 24, 2017
 More »

Recent Forum Activity
Call for Submissions: ATDS Vera Mowry Roberts Award
Posted by: Susan Tenneriello, Baruch College, CUNY, Monday, October 17, 2016
Forum: Non-ATHE CFPs
ATDS John W. Frick Book Award (15 Feb. 2015)
Posted by: Amy E. Hughes, Brooklyn College (CUNY), Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Forum: Non-ATHE CFPs
"Performing the Archives" Conference- NUI Galway
Posted by: Charlotte McIvor, Monday, October 20, 2014
Forum: Non-ATHE CFPs
CFP for MATC, Productive Chaos of the Progressive Era
Posted by: Max Shulman, Thursday, August 28, 2014
Forum: Non-ATHE CFPs
Folger Shakespeare Library
Posted by: Tom Robson, Millikin University, Sunday, August 17, 2014
Forum: Digital Resources
 View All Forums »

Recently Updated Profiles
Scott Magelssen, University of Washington, School of Drama, Zoltan Markus, Vassar College, Anne Fliotsos, Purdue University, Film, Television, & Theatre, Victoria A. Lewis, University of Redlands

© 2018 Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE). All rights reserved.
1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252 | St. Paul, MN 55114 | Phone: 800.918.9216 or 651.288.3430 | Fax: 651.290.2266