Contact Us | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
Outstanding Book Award
Share |

The 2015 Outstanding Book award recipient is Suk-Young Kim for her work, DMZ Crossing: Performing Emotional Citizenship Along the Korean Border, published by Columbia University Press. View an interview with Kim here.

The award for Outstanding Book is given on the basis of the study's potential to interrupt, change and/or challenge theatre practice and pedagogy - often emphasizing the interconnectedness of pedagogy and practice. We invite submissions of books or book-length studies about theatre administration, performance spaces, movement, voice, acting, as well as anthologies providing critical teaching materials in theatre arts and performance. A nominated book must have the copyright date of the year prior the year of the ATHE annual conference. (For instance, nominees for the 2016 book award should have a copyright date of 2015.)

Nominators must send a copy of the book to the chair of the sub-committee as well as copies to each of the members of the sub-committee. No letters of support are necessary, but the nominator must provide contact information for the authors and publishers. Self-nomination is permitted. View the subcommittee here. For questions or concerns, contact Vice President for Awards Jocelyn L. Buckner.

Deadline: The deadline for 2016 submissions has passed.

View a list of past awardees here

2016 Association for Theatre in Higher Education. All rights reserved.
1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252 | St. Paul, MN 55114 | Phone: 800.918.9216 or 651.288.3430 | Fax: 651.290.2266