Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In
Focus Groups - Women and Theatre Program - Jane Chambers Award - Frequently Asked Questions
Share |



Women and Theatre Program

proudly sponsors


For Women Playwrights

Deadline is March 1, 2013

The JANE CHAMBERS AWARD recognizes feminist plays & performance texts created by women writers that present significant opportunities for female performers. Given in memory of lesbian playwright Jane Chambers, who through her plays such as My Blue Heaven, Last Summer at Bluefish Cove and Kudzu became a major feminist voice in American theater, the Jane Chambers Playwriting Contest welcomes experimentations in form as well as subject matter. Feminism is understood variously, and may cross diverse class, sex, race, national, ethnic, theatrical, and/or geographic perspectives. The Jane Chambers Contest winner receives $1000 & a rehearsed reading of the winning play at ATHE’s annual mid-summer conference. First given in 1984, the award is sponsored by the Women and Theater Program (WTP) with generous support from the Association for Theater in Higher Education (ATHE), private donors, and university friends.


Submissions for the 2012 Jane Chambers Contest should be sent to arrive by March 1. Please note there are two divisions, one for student applicants!
            Click on the upper right menu to Return to Jane Chambers General Information Page and Scroll to the bottom for links to Student contest & application form


The 2011 Jane Chambers Winners Natalie Marlena Goodnow  for MUD OFFERINGS

The 2011 Student Contest Winner was  Martyna Majok for THE FRIENDSHIP OF HER THIGHS 

The 2010 Jane Chambers Winner was MARTHA JANE KAUFMAN for A LIVE DRESS,

The 2010 Student Contest Winner was  LIZA CASE for THE UNSPOKEN ONES.

The Jane Chambers Award is made possible through the generosity of friends. Please make a donation to help us keep this important contest alive!

To Donate via our Pay Pal please Use menu on the Upper Right "Patron Program and Donations"

Questions about the contest or to inquire about initiating larger levels of giving or providing in-kind support for the Jane Chambers Contest and annual reading and/or our WTP reception, please contact Maya Roth (

Celebrating our Winning Playwrights: Where you can find their work:

Dominique Morriseau (Retrospect for Life, Runner-Up in 2008) is one of the Public Theatre's Emerging Playwrights for 2010.
About Face Theatre won an NEA grant to produce Sally Oswald's Pony (runner-up in 2008) for its professional world premiere in 2010.
13 Playwrights received an NEA grant to produce Madeleine George's The Zero Hour, which won the Jane Chambers in 2004 in 2010.
Anne Marie Healy's What Once We Felt (honorable mention 2008) was a finalist for the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize in 2008-09. The play was published in Sally Oswald's Play: A Journal, devoted to reinventing the life of plays on the page, including experimental writing for the stage
Christine Evans’ Trojan Barbie, which won the Award in 2007, was published by Samuel French in 2010. See her website at for current projects and her excellent playwright's blog.

NEWSFLASH: We have NO Submission Fees again in 2013!

**** We WELCOME DONATIONS for the Jane Chambers Award***


Women & Theatre Program
Association for Theatre in Higher Education
Copyright 2006© All Rights Reserved

About Women and Theatre

Membership and Conferences

Patron Program and Donations

The Jane Chambers Playwriting Award


Community Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?


7/24/2014 » 7/27/2014
Dream Acts: Performance as Refuge, Resistance, and Renewal

© 2011-2014 Association for Theatre in Higher Education. All rights reserved.
P.O. Box 1290, Boulder, CO 80306-1290; 1-888-284-3737 • 1-303-530-2167 • 1-303-530-2168 (fax)